top of page



The society was originally formed on February 2nd, 1938 as the Geological Section of the Buffalo Society of Natural Sciences. Dr. Irving G. Reimann, Curator of Geology at the Buffalo Museum of Science was the first president.

Statement of Purpose

The purpose of this Society shall be to engage in and encourage the study of Geological Sciences, the Lapidary Arts, the collection of fossils, minerals, and rocks, and to promote exhibits and sponsor excursions and field trips for the aforementioned purposes. View our Constitution for more details.

Club Activities
  • Monthly meetings featuring guest speakers

  • Monthly Continuing Education Forum meetings held throughout the year

  • Club sponsored field trips to quarries, museums, collecting sites, and other places of interest

  • September annual picnic and rock swap

  • December silent auction and potluck supper

  • March annual live auction

  • Annual Gem, Mineral & Fossil Show at the Erie County Fairgrounds, Hamburg, NY

  • May annual Banquet and Installation of Officers

  • Monthly newsletter to keep members up-to-date on our events as well as activities of other clubs

  • Mineral and fossil identification and show-and-tell before every meeting

  • Support of local educational organizations

Meeting Information

When: First Friday of each month, October through April. No admission fee.
Time: 7:30pm
Where: Heritage Discovery Center, 100 Lee Street, Buffalo NY.

Board Meetings are held on the Thursday after the monthly meeting at 7:30 pm and are open to all members.

The Continuing Education Forum is held on the last Wednesday of every month; see newsletter for time and location.


Meetings will not be held on days on which Buffalo Public Schools are closed due to inclement weather.

Election Results 2024

President                        Keith Rowe

Vice President              Craig Posmantur

Treasurer                       Christopher Boyd

Secretary                       Zeena Pawlicki



Directors for a two (2) year term


Jerold Bastedo

Marcia Binda

Donald Lapham III

Ronald Schmidt



Keith Rowe (716.860.1689)

Vice President/Program Chariman:

Craig Posmantur (716.834.8935)

Recording Secretary:

Zeena Pawlicki

Membership Chairman:

Jeanne Phillips (716.838.5786)


Christopher Boyd

Field Trip Chairmen:

Jerry Bastedo (716.864.2701)

Don Lapham III (716.438.3794)

Joe Sullivan (716.823.8371)

Show Chairman:

Jerry Bastedo (716.864.2701)


Lucy LaPlaca


Judy Russell (716.691.9702)

EFMLS Delegate:

Craig Posmantur (716.834.8935)


Marilyn Broad (716.632.8355)

644 Beach Rd. Buffalo, NY 14225

Inventory Control:

Craig Posmantur (716.834.8935)


Jerry Bastedo.23 (716.864.2701)

Marcia Binda.23 (716.863.0020)

William Broad.24 (716.632.8355)

Don Lapham III.25 (716.438.3794)

Paul Leuchner.24 (716.704.0546)

Deb Pirson.24 (716.773.6078)

Dale Russell.25 (716.691.9702)

Ronald Schmidt.23 (716.688.6405)

Judy Stadler.25 (716.838.5175)

bottom of page